Visit Sites Rural Visit Sites Rural

Go to:     Ministry of Panchayati Raj



     NELLORE District situated in the South Eastern portion of the state with a costal length of 163 KM bounded by Bay of Bengal on the East. The district was known as VIKRAMA SIMHAPURI until 13th Century and later it came to be referred to as Nellore.

     The city derives its name from the Tamil, "nelli" which means rice, as paddy cultivation is the predominant occupation in this region.


         It was earlier known as Nellore district. In June 2008, the government of Andhra Pradesh officially renamed the district as Potti Sri Ramulu Nellore District after the freedom fighter and revolutionary Potti Sri Ramulu, who died fasting in an attempt to achieve the formation of a separate state for the Telugu people


Sri Potti Sri Ramulu


         Historically the district was under the rule of mouryas, sathavahanas, pallavas, cholas, telugcholas, kakatias, pandyans etc. The great Telugu poet Tikkana Somayaji translated 15 parvas of Sanskrit Mahabharata into Telugu in Nellore.

        Nothing certain is known of the History of Nellore before the time of the Cholas. The Neolthic age in Nellore is more abscure than the Paleolithic age. It is not clear up to what extent this district was occupied by the Dravidains.

          It is supposed that Nellore was situated in Dandakaranya forests into which the Aryas first penetrated as adventurous sages with the rise of the Mouryan Empire Nellore also seems to have under its influence and was part of the Ashoka Empire in the 3rd century B.C. It was next included in the Pallava Dominion between the fourth and sixth century A.D.



Satish Dhawan Space Centre

                 The Satish Dhawan Space Centre is the launch centre for the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). It is located in Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh, 80 km (50 mi) north of Chennai. Originally called Sriharikota High Altitude Range (SHAR, an acronym ISRO have retained to the present day) and then Sriharikota Launching Range, the centre was renamed in 2002 after the death of ISRO's former chairman Satish Dhawan.

SDSC's current director is M.Y.S. Prasad. He took over from M.C. Dathan on January 1, 2013 after the latter was appointed as Director of LPSC.


The Krishnapatnam Port

                      The Krishnapatnam Port is India's largest private sector port. It was inaugurated on 17 July 2008 by the UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi. The port was built by the Navayuga Engineering Company, the flagship concern of the CVR Group, under a build-operate-share-transfer (BOST) agreement with the Government of Andhra Pradesh. The port covers an area of 4,553 acres. The BOST agreement, valid for 30 years and further extendable to 50 years, requires the promoters to pay 2.6% of the port's gross revenue to the Government of Andhra Pradesh for the first 30 years. From the 30th year, that share increases to 5.4% and from the 40th year to 10.8%. The agreement also requires them to develop the port in three phases with the first phase being completed by January 2008, the second phase by 2012 and the final by 2017.